soldering station

Repairs, trouble shooting, modding and so on.

soldering station

Postby David B » Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:33 pm

Kinda boring but what soldering station do you prefer ? I have been using a cheap Weller WLC100 for ten years now ! Had to replace the element and it works OK but would like something a bit more precise with its temperature regulation...
David B

Advertisement

Banner ads are available for $25 a month. PM or Email me at Info@wallaceamps.com for more details.

Re: soldering station

Postby dai h. » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:55 pm

I usually use cheap ones (30W for transistor, IC stuff, 40W for amps, and a 60W with a big tip when I need more muscle). They work okay if the temp. is adjusted (usually with my Variac). I was checking this one out on and off:

http://www.hakko.com/english/products/hakko_933.html

company has a good rep., it's temp. controlled, ceramic heater, plus wide range of tips avail. I esp. want the wide one since that should allow easy removal of mobo alu electrolytic caps (need to hit both leads at once or the cap itself, power, and ground planes on the board will act as a super heat sink and prevent desoldering) as well as cap removal from other stuff that has through-hole plated PCB holes.

Have a Weller Portasol (butane-powered) also, which I bought trying to figure out how to de-solder mobo caps. Potentially handy for someone on the road or say soldering house wiring with the power off or some like situation. They are sold here under the goot (Taiyo Electric) brand which don't have a good rep.(I have a cheap temp. controlled station which seems to confirm this) but the Portasol (which they don't make--mine is marked (crap, earthquake lol) "made in Ireland"(might have been in Gaelic or something) seems pretty decent.
dai h.

Postby Hamilton » Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:10 pm

I've only owned one station, a Weller EC1002, and it's been working fine for the last 10 years.

Edit > I see the EC1002 is now discontinued. :oops:
Hamilton