0v taps?

A place to ask questions about all transformers

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:25 pm

So I would just solder 1 and 3 to the neutral wire itself making the three like one wire?
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Advertisement

Banner ads are available for $25 a month. PM or Email me at Info@wallaceamps.com for more details.

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:20 pm

If the PT wires are long enough, you can just run them to the AC plug.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:25 pm

I understand that, but there is no AC plug on the count of me hard wiring the cord into the chassis
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:14 pm

Sorry about that. I don't do the strain relief AC cord so I just went with the IEC set up. Yes, solder the AC neutral wire to the two PT common wires and then seal it with some shrink tubing.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:32 pm

Ok, great! Thanks a bunch for your patience. So one more question and I'm off your back, Brian. lol. So the green/yellow screen wire (16) goes to the chassis ground and from what I've seen one of the center taps goes to both the chassis ground and the negative terminal of the filter cap. I'm going to be using the 325v secondaries instead of the 350v ones so would I do this with the low voltage center tap?
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:43 pm

16 is an internal shield I believe and it would be considered a low level signal ground. I would ground it with the CT's from the Secondary taps along with the power amp filter cap.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:48 pm

So you're saying ground them all and connect all of them to the filter cap?
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:26 pm

Ground the CT taps to where ever you are grounding the filer cap to.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:34 pm

Ok, I think that does it, Brian. Thanks you so much for taking time out of your day to answer my questions and have a wonderful 4th!
-Dan
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:40 pm

Anytime Dan.

Happy 4th to you as well. :)
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Previous

Return to Transformers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron