0v taps?

A place to ask questions about all transformers

0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:28 am

Hi guys! I'm new here and figured I'd ask some questions. I have a JTM-45 PT made by Ingo Gorges in Germany. I know how to hook it up except for these two 0v taps and these high and low voltage CT's. Are these 0v taps center taps? If so, where do they get wired? It also has high voltage and low voltage center taps. Since the transformer has high and low voltage secondaries (350v and 325v) I figure that the high voltage CT is for the 350v secondaries and the low voltage CT is for the 325v secondaries? Sorry if I sound stupid but I'm a greenhorn when it comes to this stuff and this will be my first amp build. Any help is much appreciated guys.
Thanks,
Dan
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Advertisement

Banner ads are available for $25 a month. PM or Email me at Info@wallaceamps.com for more details.

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:32 pm

Dan,

Doesn't Ingo provide a wiring diagram? If so post it here so we can see the taps.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:09 pm

Here's a link to the data sheet, Brian. Let me know if it works...
Image
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:01 pm

Works great. :)

OK, the 0V taps on the primary (wires 1 and 3) should be labeled as common and would be attached at the AC input neutral not ground. The secondary taps that are CT's and need to go to chassis ground are wires 10 and 14.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:32 pm

So since I'm doing a hard wired power cord I'd connect the common wires to the mains fuse holder? Another question I have is since this transformer has two 120v taps, would I connect one to the power switch and one to the mains fuse? This is very helpful, Brian. Thanks a lot...
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:17 am

I don't know how you intend to wire the amp but the neutral AC wire should go directly to the transformers common tap. The AC hot wire should be the one that goes to the fuse, then the switch and then to the PT's AC voltage input.

It should be explained on the diagram but what I believe Ingo is doing is using two coils to perform a 120V and 240V tap set up. For 120VAC you will wire the two coils in pararllel and for 240VAC you will wire the two coils in series. I would contact Ingo for instructions on how to wire the primary.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:54 am

As far as how I will be wiring the amp, the layouts that I've found for a hard wired power cord show the common wire(s) and neutral wire going to the mains fuse holder. Would this work? And for the primaries, I know I could wire the amp for 110v operation. This would be the easiest route but I've read that this could result in higher plate voltages which could end up eating my tubes. What do you think about doing that?
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:59 am

Just found Ingo's instructions on wiring the primaries. What do you make of this?
http://www.ig-transformatoren.com/catal ... 20x600.jpg
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:51 am

You can wire the amp the way Marshall did which is the way you are talking about and this will work fine.

The layout looks just like what I was thinking about.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:28 pm

Ok. So the two 120v taps would go together to the power switch. Then from the power switch a wire goes to the mains fuse where the neutral, hot and common (0v) wires are connected? I just want to make sure I've got this so I don't cook my transformers. lol
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:50 pm

Marshall schematics show it this way. The Hot wire went to the mains switch to the PT's common(1 & 3) and the Neutral wire went to the fuse holder and to the voltage selector or the selected mains tap on the PT(2 & 5).
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:19 pm

So I would connect the ac hot and the common (0v) wires directly to the mains switch where the 120v taps and neutral wire (from the fuse holder) would be? If I'm misinterpreting this please excuse my ignorance, Brian. The fact that there are so many variations on the wiring of these amps has made it difficult for me to figure out and understand what the right way is.
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:35 pm

OK lets make this easier and more electrically safe.

The Hot or Line side of the AC in will go to the mains fuse, from the fuse you will go to one side of the mains switch. The other side of the mains switch will get wires 2 & 5.

The common or Neutral side of the AC in will go directly to wires 1 & 3.

This is a modern way of wiring and there will be no sound difference what so ever.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Cactus10 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:45 pm

So wires 1 and 3 will get wired to neutral at the mains fuse?
Cactus10
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am

Re: 0v taps?

Postby Brian Wallace » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:17 pm

1 & 3 will go straight to the neutral.

Only the Line side will get the fuse and switch attached to 2 & 5.
Remember....You can fix it with a little extra energy and a positive attitude. ;)
User avatar
Brian Wallace
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:34 pm
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Next

Return to Transformers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


cron